Inside Welbeck - Welbeck Abbey Maintenance
04 February 2013
For centuries, Welbeck has been a place of constant evolution. In 2005, a new chapter in Welbeck’s history was to begin when the MOD, who had used Welbeck Abbey along with other Estate buildings as a Sixth Form College since 1954, made the decision to leave. With the MOD’s departure came David Hibbert and the formation of the Welbeck Abbey Maintenance team.
David and his team were given the grand task of looking after the Abbey along with responsibility for extensive restoration projects. Most recently, David and his team have completed refurbishment of the Print Corridor and Horsemanship Rooms, which were featured in the 2012 Welbeck Abbey Tours.
With the departure of the MOD also came the launch of an ambitious programme called the Welbeck Project, which sought to find new uses for a number of buildings at Welbeck. Carriage Court, Cavendish House and The School of Artisan Food were products of this programme and are now all looked after by the Welbeck Abbey Maintenance team.
What future projects are David and his team looking forward to in 2013? After focusing on interior renovations, they will now begin to concentrate on external refurbishments. A Herculean task you might say, but all in a day’s work for David and his exceptionally skilled Welbeck Abbey Maintenance team.
For a brief account of Welbeck Abbey's architectural history from the Welbeck curators, Derek Adlam and Gareth Hughes, click on the link below.
The Harley Gallery will be running their fabulous Welbeck Abbey State Room Tours again in 2013. Don't miss this unique opportunity to view artworks from The Portland Collection in the historic setting of Welbeck Abbey’s grand Edwardian entertaining rooms.
- Book tickets online
- Telephone booking line: 01909 447447