The Portland Collection

The Portland Collection museum is open Tuesday – Saturday, 10am - 5pm. Sunday, 10am - 4pm. (Closed on Mondays) Free entry, no booking required.


The Portland Collection Museum is located in The Courtyard at Welbeck and displays a selection of fine art and decorative design collected over 400 years. The Collection takes its name from the Dukes of Portland who owned Welbeck from 1755 to 1977 and whose descendants live here today. 

The current display 'Men, Women and Things' focuses on extraordinary women in the family's ancestry, from the first sci-fi writer to a natural historian and a great philanthropist. Including portraits by Sir Anthony van Dyck and John Singer Sargent, a Michelangelo drawing, jewels and historic recipes. 

 

 

"One of the finest aristocratic collections in England"

Martin Bailey, The Art Newspaper

The Portland Collection Museum opened in March 2016 and was designed by Hugh Broughton Architects. It has won numerous awards, including the RIBA East Midlands Building of the Year Award, 2016.

Further objects from The Portland Collection can be seen in their historic setting at Welbeck Abbey on a State Room Tour.

Entry to the gallery is FREE. For visitor information and opening times click here

The Portland Collection is run by The Harley Foundation, a charitable trust which supports the visual arts and crafts.

 


Discover more

Visit The Courtyard at Welbeck – home to The Harley GalleryPortland CollectionWelbeck Farm Shop and The Harley Café. This treasure trove of curiosities is a perfect location to meet up with friends while enjoying foodie delights from The Harley Café.

Stay with us

We have a selection of holiday accommodation here on the Welbeck estate that will make your visit extra special. Stay in the heart of the Welbeck Village in The Winnings or select a stay in a nearby village at Holbeck Farm Barns or Stable Cottage in Belph.